Eastern Illinois University Logo
Political Science |



About the Program

Announcing New Programs and Courses

Message from the Chair

Lead the World at EIU!

Majors and Alumni: A Record of Success

Job Opportunities for Political Science Majors

Why Choose EIU

Apply Now

Political Science Faculty at EIU

Graduate Studies

Undergraduate Courses

Scholarships and Awards

Applied Learning in Poli Sci

Associations and Groups

Sample 4 Year Plans

Advising Resources for Students

Featuring Political Science Alumni

Contact Us


Back to Listing

Dr. Ryan C. Hendrickson

Dr. Ryan C. Hendrickson


Office: 2325 - Coleman Hall
Phone: 217-581-6224
Email: rchendrickson@eiu.edu
Website: http://ux1.eiu.edu/~rchendrickson/

Ryan Hendrickson's Vita
Professor Ryan C. Hendrickson (Ph.D. Nebraska, B.A. Marquette University) teaches courses in International Relations, American Foreign Policy and International Organization. He is the author of the forthcoming book, Obama at War: Congress and the Imperial Presidency (University Press of Kentucky), The Clinton Wars: The Constitution, Congress And War Powers (Vanderbilt University Press, 2002) and Diplomacy and War at NATO: The Secretary General and Military Action after the Cold War (University of Missouri Press , 2006).

His published articles have appeared in Armed Forces & Society, Comparative Strategy, Contemporary Security Policy, Etudes internationales, Foreign Affairs, Global Governance, Journal of International Relations and Development, Journal of Slavic Military Studies, Journal of Strategic Studies, PS, Parameters, Political Science Quarterly, RUSI Journal, and Security Dialogue, among others.

Professor Hendrickson’s current research projects focus on NATO Secretary General Fogh Rasmussen’s leadership of NATO, as well as the reform initiatives proposed by the Secretary General. He is also studying Congress's role in shaping NATO's next membership expansion, NATO's collaboration with Sweden and other partnerships, and NATO's use of force in Libya. He is the recipient of the 2012 Rodney S. Ranes Graduate Faculty Mentor Award and serves as the Political Science Department's Graduate Coordinator.

Faculty/Staff Login to Update Info