Eastern Illinois University Logo
NCA 2014 |




The institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution’s operations

  1. Subcommittee co-chairs: Jennifer Sipes, Student Affairs and Terri Fredrick, Faculty, English
  2. John Allison, Faculty, English
  3. Steve Scher, Faculty, Psychology
  4. Bill Elliott, Graduate/International Admissions
  5. Cindy White, Charleston Chamber of Commerce
  6. David Crockett, Facilities
  7. Rachel Fisher, Community Service
  8. Brad Green, University Advancement
  9. Cynthia Nichols, Office of Civil Rights
  10. Zeenat Chaudhary, International Undergrad
  11. Zachary Samples, Undergraduate Student
  12. Kaylia Eskew, Undergraduate Student


Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct

The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible

  1. Subcommittee co-chairs: Marshall Lassak, Faculty, Mathematics and Linda Holloway, Human Resources
  2. Andy Cheetham, Faculty, Music
  3. Lisa Brooks, Faculty, Family & Consumer Sciences
  4. Carrie Dale, Faculty, Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Level Ed
  5. Doug Brandt, Faculty, Physics
  6. Bob Chesnut, Research & Sponsored Programs
  7. Bradley Tolppanen, Booth Library
  8. John Henderson, CATS
  9. Heather Webb, Student Standards
  10. Sandy Cox, Counseling Center
  11. Eric Schultz, Athletics

Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources & Support

The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

  1. Subcommittee co-chairs: Bonnie Irwin, Dean, College of Arts and Humanities and Mike Mulvaney, Faculty, Recreation Administration
  2. Mark Borzi, Faculty, Communication Studies
  3. Katie Shaw, Faculty, Family & Consumer Sciences
  4. Jackie Frank, Faculty, Family & Consumer Sciences
  5. Mildred Pearson, Faculty, Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Level Ed
  6. Mike Cornebise, Chair, Geology/Geography
  7. Jeanne Snyder, Business & Applied Sciences
  8. Shelley James, Advisement Center
  9. Dawn VanGunten, Faculty, College of Education
  10. Jerry Donna, Financial Aid
  11. Krishna Thomas, Faculty Development
  12. Kimberlie Moock, New Student Programs
  13. Mitch Gurick, Undergraduate Student


Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement

The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.

  1. Subcommittee co-chairs: Rebecca Throneburg, Faculty, Communication Disorders and Sciences and Karla Sanders, Academic Affairs
  2. Debra Reid, Faculty, History
  3. Crystal Duncan-Lane, Faculty, Family & Consumer Sciences
  4. Melissa Jones-Bromenshenkel, Faculty Special Education
  5. Joy Russell, Chair Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Level Ed
  6. Amy Lynch, College of Sciences
  7. Tom Spencer, Honors College
  8. Mona Davenport, Minority Affairs
  9. Josh Norman, Enrollment Management
  10. David Emmerich, Information Technologies
  11. Jody Stone, Housing
  12. Tyler Kalahar, Graduate Student

Resources, Planning &Institutional Effectiveness

The institution’s resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities. The institution plans for the future.

  1. Subcommittee co-chairs: David Boggs, Faculty, School of Business and Mike Maurer, Business Affairs
  2. Terry Barnhart, Faculty, History
  3. Linda Simpson, Faculty, Family & Consumer Sciences
  4. Jeanne Okrasinski, Faculty, Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Level Ed
  5. Assege Hailemariam, Faculty, Psychology
  6. Godson Obia, College of Sciences
  7. Pam Collins, School of Continuing Education
  8. Cindy Boyer, Academic Success Center
  9. Lynette Drake, Health Center
  10. Steve Rich, Alumni Services
  11. Derek Markley, President’s Office
  12. Patti Arthur, Student SCE Programs

The Self-Study Co- Chairs are Robert Augustine, Dean, The Graduate School and Jeffrey Stowell, Faculty, Psychology. The Academic Affairs Liaison is Mary Herrington-Perry, Assistant Vice President, Academic Affairs