Public Relations

Departmental Website


The Public Relations major at Eastern Illinois University is one of only a few dedicated Public Relations majors in the state at any university. Due to the dynamic nature of the Public Relations profession, students require applicable skills that remain resilient with shifts in the industry and endure over the course of their lives.

Note: Effective Fall 2016

Hours Required

51 semester hours required for the major and 120 hours required for graduation

Departmental Honors Program


Four Year Degree Plan

Graduate Degree Opportunities After Graduation

Public Relations, Strategic Communication, Communication Studies, Organizational Communication

Course Catalog Listing

Typical Starting Positions

Public relations specialist/consultant/practitioner, Director of public relations, Public relations manager/coordinator, Social media manager, Social media analyst, Event planner, Communication specialist/consultant, Communications coordinator/director, Communications specialist, Lobbyist/public affairs specialist, External/Internal communication manager/specialist, Account executive/supervisor/manager, Press agent, Community relations director, Media relations officer/specialist, Corporate communication director/specialist, Press secretary, Information officer, Media coordinator

Study Abroad Opportunities

Germany, New Zealand, Australia, Ireland,

Student Professional Organizations

Public Relations Student Society of America, The Agency, Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Honorary)

Professional Development Opportunities

Social Media Production Internship for the Public Relations major


Al & Vesta Rundle Scholarship, Betty Lou Balasi Scholarship, Carol A. Manhart Scholarship, Communication Studies Grant-in-Aid Award, Communication Studies Talented Student Award, Daniel E. Marvin Jr. WEIU Scholarship, Dr. J. Glenn Ross Scholarship, Dr. Kenneth E. Hadwiger Foreign Cultures Award, Drs. Christine & Larry Helsel Public Relations Scholarship, Edith Breving Annual Scholarship, Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship, Jack L. Payan Scholarship, John E. & Mary J. Price Scholarship, Jon J. Hopkins Memorial Speech Education Scholarship, Kenneth E. Hadwiger, Ph.D. Scholarship, Mary Coon Cottingham Scholarship, Ralph Y. McGinnis Scholarship, Raymond L. and Carolyn M. Fischer Scholarship, Robert and Ann Flick Study Abroad Annual Scholarship, The Cal Smith Civic Engagement Annual Scholarship, The Eunice Dougherty Scholarship, Wang Tih-Wu Scholarship

To search for scholarship opportunities please visit

Faculty Listing

Faculty Research Interests

Please see the recent list of faculty publications at

Faculty Honors & Awards

Please see faculty awards and honors at

Media Links

Program Twitter @pr_eiu

Public Relations, Coleman Hall 2070
Contact Name: Dr. Matthew Gill
Contact Email: