Eastern Illinois University Logo
English |

Scholarships and Awards


Why Choose EIU

Apply Now


Upcoming Events

English Studies Conference

English Studies Summer Camp

Mission Statement

Graduate Studies

Career Profiles

Faculty & Staff

Scholarships & Awards

Student Organizations

Study Abroad Opportunities


Writing Sites @ EIU

Alumni & Friends

Departmental Resources

Contact Us


2014 Scholarships and Awards Tea

The 2014 English Department Scholarship and Awards Tea was held on April 9, 2014, in the Atrium of the Tarble Arts Center. The Department is proud to offer numerous scholarships and awards not only for freshmen but for continuing students. Department Chair Dana Ringuette presented more than $46,000 in awards and prizes during the ceremony.

This year's recipients have shown excellence in a variety of areas such as scholarship, character, leadership, writing skills, interest and talent in the English language and creative writing, service to the university community, academic achievement and financial need.

The 2013-2014 Scholarship and Awards Committee includes professors Randy Beebe (chair), John Allison, Rosemary Buck, Tim Engles, Michael Leddy, Michael Loudon, Jyoti Panjwani, and Duangrudi Suksang.

Congratulations to all of the recipients!

Click photo above to view the photostream.

Recipients not pictured are:

Rachel Sepich - Livingston Lord Scholarship, Continuing Presidential Scholars in English

Kathryn Caulkins - Continuing Presidential Scholars in English

Hannah Osborne- Continuing Presidential Scholars in English; Genelle Voight Jackson English Scholarship

Jennifer Greenberg - Martin Luther King Scholarship, nominated by Dr. Jeanne Ludlow; Distinguished Senior Award, nominated by Dr. Jeanne Ludlow; Isabel McKinney Scholarship; Mary Coon Cottingham Scholarship; first prize in the Cultural Diversity Essay Contest for “Hidden Homosexuality”

Courtney Walton - Warner Presidential Award in English

Ceili Erickson – Isabel McKinney Scholarship

Joshua Goss – Isabel McKinney Scholarship

Katherine Mueller – Isabel McKinney Scholarship

Alex Hill – Lucina Paquet Gabbard English Scholarship

Aaron White – Distinguished Graduate Student in English Award

Leslie Myrick – Outstanding M.A. Thesis Award

Juan Salas – Fall 2013 James K. Johnson Creative Writing Award for “Brink of Perpetual Light”

Mark Rheaume – Spring 2014 James K. Johnson Creative Writing Award for three untitled poems

Ryan Henderson – first prize in the First-Year Essay Contest for “A Comparison of ‘Sonny’s Blues’ by James Baldwin and ‘Babylon Revisited’ by F. Scott Fitzgerald”

K’lynn Robinson – third prize in the First-Year Essay Contest for “Working to Live”

Graham R. Lewis Memorial Poetry Award winners:

First Place: Darronte Matthews

Second Place: Emily Scarbrough

Third Place: Trevor (Tj) Martinson

Fourth Place: Steven Nathaniel

Fifth Place: Mark Rheaume

Sixth Place: David Busboom

Seventh Place: Margorie Clemente

Eighth Place: Ivory Watts

Ninth Place: Benjamin Cravens