Eastern Illinois University Logo
Elementary Education MS |

Carol Helwig Award


About the Program

Apply Now


Program Requirements

Current Student Resources


Research Opportunities


Why Choose EIU

Graduate Coordinator

Research in Action

First Choice Status

Department Newsletter


Undergraduate Studies

Contact Us

Carol Helwig Award

The recipient of the Carol Helwig award must be a graduate student, working towards certification in or a master's degree in Early Childhood, Elementary, or Middle Level Education.  The individual must be a non-traditional student (i.e., at least 25 years old) and enrolled as a full-time student at Eastern Illinois University.  Financial need is a consideration.  You may only receive this award one time.  This award is paid out and recognized in the spring.

  • Scholarship Application - due October 21, 2016 (click here)

Award Winners 

Kyle SakowiczKyle Sakowicz (2015)

Kimberly Lemmon Kimberly Lemmon (2014)

Susan BanyaiSusan Banyai (2013)

Jennie FileJennie File (2013)

Jena BorahJena Borah (2012)

Crystal HolmesChrystal Holmes (2011)