Jun 23, 2017


Research and Creative Activity

Sally Renaud, professor and chair of the department of journalism, spoke on Sunday, June 11, on famed journalist William Allen White and his college days and how they compare to student journalists and student media today. She was joined by one of her former students, Rob Curley, now editor of the Spokesman-Review in Spokane, Wash., who talked about how newspapers might save themselves using the techniques employed by White.

The talk was held in Emporia, Kan., at the Red Rocks State Historical Site, home to White and his family, and co-sponsored by the Kansas Historical Society and the William Allen White Community Partnership Inc.

Posted: Jun 20, 2017

Roger Beck, History Department, is serving on the Organizing Committee for the 60th annual meeting of the African Studies Association, which will be held in Chicago in mid-November 2107. Beck also served on this committee in 2008, the last time the ASA met in Chicago.

Posted: Jun 15, 2017

Student journalists from The Daily Eastern News, the Warbler and WEIU's News Watch brought home awards in the 2017 Society for Collegiate Journalists national competition.

The Daily Eastern News won first place in newspaper overall excellence and companion newspaper website overall excellence for dailyeasternnews.com. These awards are for the 2016 calendar year. Stephanie Markham, a 2016 journalism graduate, was editor-in-chief in the Spring 2016 semester. Kalyn Hayslett, a 2017 journalism graduate, was EIC in the Fall 2016 semester. The News won a total of 15 awards.

WEIU's News Watch took second place in television news show overall excellence for its Oct. 3, 2016, broadcast. News Watch won a total of five awards.

The 2015-16 Warbler yearbook took second place in all six yearbook categories: overall excellence, coverage of the year, concept of the book, reporting in words, photography, and display. Dominic Baima, a 2016 graduate, was the EIC for the book.

For News Watch, junior journalism major Abbey Taylor took second and third places in the television feature package category. 2017 graduate Kallie Koester, a communication studies major, took first and second place in the television news package category.

For The Daily Eastern News, other awards were:
-- Feature page, first place;
-- Front page, honorable mention;
-- Editorial page, second place, 2016 journalism graduate Chris Picazo;
-- Editorial page, third place, junior English major Shelby Niehaus;
-- Sports page, second place, 2017 journalism graduate Lauren McQueen;
-- Photo essay, first place, journalism senior Molly Dotson;
-- Photo essay, honorable mention, 2017 journalism graduate Jason Hardimon;
-- News stories, honorable mention, 2016 journalism graduate Stephanie Markham and junior journalism major Cassandra Buchman;
-- Editorials, third place, 2017 journalism graduate Jason Howell;
-- Multi story news series, honorable mention, Cassandra Buchman;
-- Continuing coverage, second place, Cassandra Buchman;
-- Sports columns, honorable mention, journalism junior Sean Hastings;
-- Feature photography, third place, Molly Dotson.

LOLA A. BURNHAM, Interim Director/Student Publications
Posted: May 09, 2017

Next Section