School of Business' Award-winning Student Organizations

The School of Business is the proud home to many high-quality registered student organizations.  Below are just a few of the recent awards garnered by our RSOs.  Congratulations!

Beta Gamma Sigma Named Bronze Chapter

In spring 2012, EIU's chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) was recognized as a Bronze Chapter for conducting programs of significance.  This is indeed a prestigious award, as there are 513 member chapters.  Special recognition goes to Mr. Mike Wilson who has served as the Chapter Advisor for BGS for many years, and to Dr. Kesha Coker who is now serving as Faculty President.




Student and faculty members of Beta Gamma Sigma


Beta Alpha Psi Named Superior Chapter

EIU's Theta Omega Chapter of Beta Alpha Psi received "Superior Chapter" status in 2012.  A superior rating is given for overall performance of the chapter, which includes the number of external speakers invited, the quality of the speakers invited, student hours invested in professional and service activities, diversity initiatives, recruitment, and attendance at national/regional meetings.  Considering that there are 296 chapters of Beta Alpha Psi throughout the world, it is quite a distinction to be named a superior chapter.  Congratulations to the student members and faculty advisors of the Theta Omega Chapter attaining this honor.

American Marketing Association Wins Awards at International Conference

Each year at its international conference, EIU's chapter of the American Marketing Association (AMA) receives awards for its excellent students, programs, and faculty.  In 2012, AMA was given awards for Outstanding Chapter Planning and Outstanding Communications, at its international collegiate conference that was held in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Association of Information Technology Professionals

The Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) had three students who placed in the COBOL competition at its national conference.  Tom Bossier and Donovan Kay received 2nd Place, while Caitlin Wilson won 3rd Place.

Additionally, Ms. Vicki Hampton received the Advisor of the Year award, which signifies national recognition of her hard work and dedication to her role as faculty advisor for AITP.