School of Business Fast Facts

The School of Business is accredited by AACSB International and offers six undergraduate majors, five minors, and an MBA program. There are approximately 1,128 declared undergraduate business majors and 69 MBA degree candidates.

Undergraduate majors offered include Accountancy, Finance, Management, Management Information Systems, and Marketing. A Business Administration major is also offered at an off-campus location. Minors are offered in Accountancy, Business Administration, Finance, Entrepreneurship, and Information Systems. Also offered in the School of Business are a Master of Business Administration with Research Option, a Master of Business Administration with Applied Management Option, and a Master of Business Administration with an Accountancy Concentration.

The School of Business is housed in Lumpkin Hall and offers the latest teaching technologies, including classrooms equipped with an instructor station that includes a StarBoard, a SmartBoard, Turning Point response system, and ceiling mounted projectors. The collaborative lab includes networked computer workstations configured to encourage interaction between students. The Server Farm consists of a rack of servers that allows MIS students to conduct projecting including managing web servers, email servers, web development, and client-server programming.

The state-of-the-art Securities Analysis Center provides a hands-on learning environment using the same hardware and software used by professionals on an actual Trading Floor. The technology in the Center includes a ticker and databoard, both of which are programmed to display current market information. Two TV screens with direct video feeds from world and financial news networks, combined with the ticker and databoard, provide breaking news that is needed to make real-time decisions much like those in a real trading room.


Undergraduate Degree Programs

Bachelor of Science in Business (B.S.B) Degree Programs

  • B.S.B. in Accountancy
  • B.S.B. in Finance
  • B.S.B. in Management
  • B.S.B. in Management Information Systems
  • B.S.B. in Marketing
  • B.S.B. in Business Administration (a part-time, evening degree program offered only at Parkland College in Champaign, Illinois)


Graduate Degree Programs

Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) Degree Programs

  • M.B.A. with Research Option
  • M.B.A with Applied Management Option
  • M.B.A. with Accountancy Concentration


Declared Undergraduate Majors

Enrollment: 1,128
Female: 38%            Male: 62%


Graduate Students

Enrollment: 69
Female: 46%            Male: 54%
Full-time Students: 61%    Part-time Students: 39%



Full-time faculty: 45
Faculty with doctorate/terminal degree: 33


Business Advisory Board

The Eastern Illinois University School of Business Advisory Board serves in an advisory role to the Chair of the School of Business and as advocates of the School. The objectives of the Business Advisory Board are to:

  • Provide an interface between the School and business community
  • Provide advice and support to the Chair on a variety of issues related to the management and offerings of the School
  • Promote positive public relations for the School.

View member biographies of Business Advisory Board Members


Accountancy Advisory Board

The Eastern Illinois University Accountancy Advisory Board serves in an advisory capacity to the Accountancy faculty and Chair of the School of Business and as advocates of the Accountancy Program. The objectives of the Accountancy Advisory Board are to:

  • Provide a source from which the faculty and Chair may seek and receive advice relating to curriculum development, faculty involvement in the profession, faculty research, and other matters necessary to ensure the development and continuance of a dynamic program in accountancy
  • Provide communication links between the faculty and professional accountancy community
  • Promote a positive image for the accountancy program within the professional community and to the public

View member biographies of Accountancy Advisory Board Members